From the North Fork to Norway

DSC_1381_72

The Blogger at Work

I’m talking- and thinking – about darkness more than I ever have before. Not metaphysical darkness, mind you (though there’s plenty of that nowadays) but actual end-of-day darkness. It seems as if it came on quite suddenly this year. When we “fell back” an hour ten days ago and it was dark at five, everything seemed suddenly foreshortened and compressed. And everyone I talked with seemed to feel depressed – my North Fork friends and New York friends alike.

My friend Chris (a New Yorker) told me that he goes into a funk that lasts until spring- though he treats it with periodic jaunts to Florida. Another friend (New Yorker) said that he wants to start drinking around five (no names will be furnished here) while another (North Forker) reported wanting to go to bed at eight o’clock.

I’ve resisted all of the above – so far- and I have some ideas about what to do instead. For example, I’m trying to think of things that are easier to do in the dark (besides burglary that is). I’m doing more writing at night. And looking at stars. The North Fork has a lot of stars in the sky- all that open space. Perhaps I’ll learn a bit of astronomy as well. But I know I may need a new plan come January; the darkest hours, after all, are still ahead. On the other hand (and as I remind myself) it will never be as dark on the North Fork in the winter as it is in Norway. It’s dark all day long from late November til mid January in Norway. I guess that’s when the Aquavit Season really begins.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Louisa on November 13, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    By January it will be getting lighter. Colder, maybe, but lighter. You’ll like it. Give up pretzels and make stew.
    In February, the light is even better–brilliant, clear light that accentuates every detail of the pebbles on the beach (and hairs on the dog?).
    I already warned you about March.
    Cheerio

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jackie on November 24, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    Remember my advice–enjoy the light of day and write at night! It sounds like it is serving you well…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

